“It’s good for you.”

By Paige Kasten

DLP_1768.JPG

Photo by Danielle Pycior

GUANACASTE, Costa Rica — Scrunched noses revealing an instant sense of disgust crossed the faces of my peers from a smell pleasantly like home to me – manure.

During our trek through Guillermo Vargas’ sustainable Low Impact For Earth coffee farm, I could not help but reminisce on the days I spent with my father on our family farm back in Hoyleton, Illinois. 

Growing up, I used to dread my various chores, especially painting the milking parlor doors.

My dad, Nathan Kasten, knew the hatred I had for sitting on a rusty five-gallon bucket in 90-degree heat to repair the worn doors back to their original state. Each time I was designated with this task, I responded with a sassy eye roll and an overly dramatic sigh, but my dad always reassured me, “It’s good for you.” 

I never quite understood what those words truly meant until today.

Vargas, much like my father, understands the importance of his work and rarely takes time off.  For the first time in 35 years, Vargas plans to step away from the farm and focus on himself for four months.

Similarly, I cannot recall a time my family was together when my dad was not answering calls for his self-employed business. I vividly remember the many nights he would get home after midnight and rise again before the sun to tend to a sick calf or work the land. 

I often asked myself why he worked so diligently for hours on end and found myself pondering the same question today with Vargas.  The answer – family.

Vargas works to provide not only for his three daughters but his employees as well. Kasten Farms, Inc., the rural farm that raised me, also puts food on the table at my home and others around the country. 

My dad may not grow coffee, but he shares Vargas’ passion for agriculture and benefiting others. Both men, at different points in my life, taught valuable lessons about the “good” farming provides behind the scenes.

“It is good for you” to respect the dedication of a farmer.

“It is good for you” to be educated on agriculture and its positive effects on the environment.

“It is good for you” that family farms are still prevalent around the world.

Lastly, it was even “good for me” that my dad made me paint the milking parlor doors every summer.

Edited by Holly Enowski

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment