TAKING CHANCES: FROM NEGATIVE NANCY TO BUDDING JOURNALIST

By Holly Enowski

COLUMBIA — If someone would have told me I was going to Costa Rica for a course on international journalism to end the first semester of freshman year, I would’ve laughed in their face. Here I am, 18 days from departure, and still laughing…laughing all the way through finals next week.

Taking chances has never come easy to me, but that changed after a phone call last spring. One month later, I found myself boarding a plane to another time zone, a scary experience, and a new culture alone as I embarked on a two-month internship stationed in a small village in Kenya, Africa. Although much of my life changed from sixty days abroad, the biggest transformation is that it forced me, a notorious “negative Nancy”, to begin to jump headfirst into the unknown with a positive attitude.  My life mantra since Kenya has easily become “do one thing every day that scares you.” In Costa Rica, I vow to follow that principle every day and while reporting. Whether using drone technology to capture aerial footage, attempting to live video for friends back home, snorkeling or potentially reporting in rainy conditions, every single day will bring a new story to share and new moments to cherish.

fullsizeoutput_225

“Fist bumping” with local Kenyan schoolchildren (Photo by Holly Enowski)

I am equal parts excited and nervous about the opportunity to tell the Tico story through the lens of food insecurity, human versus environmental struggles and social issues, but perhaps I am most anxious to learn: to learn about each person I meet, to learn the fundamentals of international field reporting, to learn about Costa Rican culture from the “ground up” and to maybe even learn a little Spanish along the way. My goal for this journey is to be present and invested in the individuals, opportunities, visits and experiences presented to me and to convey them in a way that is a raw reflection of true Costa Rica. So fasten your seat belts, hold on tight, this is one story you do not want to miss.

 

 

One thought on “TAKING CHANCES: FROM NEGATIVE NANCY TO BUDDING JOURNALIST

  1. Debbie Allen says:

    Teamwork, patience and a positive attitude will serve you well as a field reporter. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

