Going in Blind, Sort of

By Isabella Alves

COLUMBIA — This winter, instead of cozying up by the fireplace with a warm cup of hot chocolate, I’ll be hiking in the jungles of Costa Rica. I’ve been eyeing this study abroad program since I was a Freshman and finally able to go on it this year. To say I’ve been patiently waiting for this moment would be an understatement.

This is going to be my first experience field reporting, and my first time traveling to Central America. I’m nervous to report and interview people who are Spanish speakers, and might not speak any English. Even though I’ll have a translator with me, there will be a learning curve to work with one. I really want to make sure information is being conveyed correctly over a language barrier.

We’ll be in Costa Rica for two weeks from the Dec. 28 to Jan. 11, while I’m excited to go and really dig deep into story ideas, I also want to avoid writing anything that would be considered parachute journalism. I do recognize that I’m going somewhere that I’m not really familiar with and have never been before, so I don’t want to sound ignorant or redundant in any of my stories. Despite this, and my fear of being stung or bitten by anything, I think I’ll come back a better journalist because I’ll literally be immersed in doing journalism for two weeks. Never-the-less It’ll be an experience. 

One thought on “Going in Blind, Sort of

  1. Debbie Allen says:

    Your patience and an open mind will serve you well as a field reporter. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

