Bienvenido a Costa Rica

By Jalyn Henderson

 

COLUMBIA, Missouri — We leave for Costa Rica in 18 days, 18 hours and 23 minutes, but who’s counting. As a Texas native and current Missouri resident, I’d like to think I’ve had my fair share of traveling experience. I’ve lived in Houston, Texas, White Plains, New York, Plano, Texas and Chesterfield, Missouri, but I’m sure no place I’ve lived can compare to the rich and tropical Costa Rican environment. I’ve never been out of the country before, so I can only imagine what my time will be like there. I’m ready for new experiences and to meet people from a completely different culture and region than my own.

Although trivial, I think that my biggest concern for this trip will be making sure that I have the right attire. I definitely don’t want to be exposed to a variety of bugs, plants and other wildlife as we trek through the forest, but I want to be as comfortable as possible. I plan on doing some extensive shopping before the trip to make sure I have what I need and get the best bang for my buck.

No matter my wardrobe, I’m sure I’ll have a life-changing time in Costa Rica. I’m excited to explore a new culture and even practice my Spanish. ¡Ciao!

 

 

One thought on “Bienvenido a Costa Rica

  1. Debbie Allen says:

    Teamwork, positive attitude and willingness to work hard are some of the ingredients for a successful field reporting trip. Wishing you and your fellow journalists good luck and good reporting.

Leave a Reply

