Reflection: El Mismo (The Same)

By Jamie Crockett

 

MONTEVERDE, Costa Rica — I smile a little inside when strangers say I look like my mother, Phyllis Crockett. I’m amused not because I’m the child who loathes hearing that observation, but because I am adopted. My mother took me under her wings a few weeks after I was born, and no matter what unfortunate events led me to her love, I am forever grateful for them.

Many children who experience the foster care system often feel as if they will never fit in with the rest of the family. Depending on the circumstances, this sentiment can be a reality for some. However, others encounter such overwhelming affection and acceptance from relatives, and I am fortunate to be counted in that number.

As a single parent, my mother raised me to be a well-rounded individual, and never treated me any different from her blood relatives. The philosophy she expressed through her actions was simple: We are the same. Love surpasses all boundaries, and I found this to be a consistent value while in Central America.

Marvin Rockwell believes all people are equal and should be treated as such. As a founding father of the Monteverde community in Costa Rica, Rockwell undoubtedly practices what he preaches. This was evident when he adopted his son, Henry, simply because the child needed love. Rockwell was single at the time, but later married and adopted a daughter along with having more children. When he speaks of them, you cannot tell if one is treasured more because they are all held in high regard.

So, I will continue smiling when others tell me how much I look like my mother, because it’s true. We are one and the same.

One thought on “Reflection: El Mismo (The Same)

  1. Debbie Allen says:

    Profound insight, expressed vividly.

Leave a Reply

