Costa Rica: Hopes and expectations

As the departure date for Costa Rica draws near, the question of what one hopes to achieve on the trip becomes ever more real.

Being a photojournalist, I hope to be able to create a variety of work, hopefully work of a high quality, that’s above the idea of depicting a simple process. It’s hard to know exactly what my possible projects may consist of, as the itinerary of the trip is a bit vague as of now. Looking through posts from previous trips, I see pictures of animals and and nature, but I don’t recall seeing many of the locals, and that’s something different I hope to be able to produce.

While photography will probably be the brunt of the work I produce, I also hope to create at least one video and write a few pieces as well. Video work takes its fair share of time and effort, which is why I don’t think I’ll be producing more than one video. That being said, it’d be great to be able to produce multiple pieces.

On the other side of things, I’m just excited to be outside the country again. I haven’t been out of the country since the summer of 2011 and it feels long overdue. All in all, I’m not sure what the trip will be like, but I’m excited to be immersed in another new culture and to just be away from life in the states for a little while.

– Justin L. Stewart

2 thoughts on “Costa Rica: Hopes and expectations

  1. Debbie Allen says:

    Several interesting observations here. One comment regarding ‘vague’ itinerary: Often, that’s what happens in life. Be ready for anything in field reporting. Not everything will be prescribed. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

