Zip lining: Soaring over the forest one line at a time

The descent into the forest. Photo courtesy of Monteverde Extremo

Josh Booth descends into the forest. Photo courtesy of Monteverde Extremo

By Josh Booth

My mind worked to coordinate my body’s actions; left hand on harness, right hand behind pulley, legs crossed and go. Many feelings ran through my mind when I zip lined, but the thrills stood out.

Zip lining is one of those activities that you have to do so you can say you have done them. That was my attitude when I set off for the new adventure.

At first I was frightened, but there was no way I was going to back out. The worst part was the wait to go on my first line. My heartbeat went faster.

I continually made sure my hands and feet were in the correct position. Gravity started to take over and send me down the line. Then, I waited for the signal to brake for the next platform. Braking, I slowed down onto the platform, where a guide caught and unhooked me.

There was no time to think about what just happened. Quickly, I was sent off to the next line.

I didn’t pay much attention to the landscape at first, because I was too focused on my stance. About three or four lines later, I felt more comfortable. That was where the fun began.

Getting hooked on to continue through the forest. Photo courtesy of Monteverde Extremo

Josh Booth gets hooked on to continue through the forest. Photo courtesy of Monteverde Extremo

I started to look at what I was gliding over: the beautiful forest of Monteverde. You could’t get that view just hiking around.

Lines began to get longer, and then I went over a valley. It was amazing to see how high up I was. It may have been a little unnerving at first, but the courage came to look around.

Zip lining is something you should do if you go to Monteverde. You are able to not only see the countryside but also soar over Costa Rica in style. It is an experience you will never forget, and you will come away with a story to tell.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

