Expectations: Stories, Spanish & Spiders

hawk

My No. 2 Irrational Phobia (behind sinkholes, of course)

It still hasn’t quite registered that I’m going to Costa Rica in less than a month. I’m so grateful to have this opportunity, and I’m looking forward to getting started.

I’m excited to get back into the swing of reporting. I plan to challenge myself with both content and structure — I’ll write about issues I don’t know much about, and make efforts to use my fledgling convergence skills. I’m even hoping to try using the drone.

This will be my first trip to a Spanish-speaking country, and I’m looking forward to interviewing in Spanish. I want to talk to as many people as possible, even if I don’t get stories out of all of them.

I can’t not post about the Tarantula Hawk, a big wasp that attacks tarantulas and lays eggs in them. Terrifying. I’m a little nervous about the tarantulas, scorpions and other lovely things we might see. It’s not so much that I have a problem with the critters; I’m just not a big fan of surprises. Tarantula on a path? I’ll probably try to get a closer look. Tarantula in my shoe? NOPE.

But I’m already mentally preparing for it: I don’t like surprises, but I love adventures, and it’s all one big adventure. Even the Tarantula Hawks. I can’t wait.

– Margaux Henquinet

Leave a Reply

