Ready for Costa Rica

I’ve been doing serious journalism for only about three years now, but it’s safe to say I’ve fallen into a couple of patterns. When there’s something I’m really, truly interested in, I surround myself with the issue. I can’t think about anything else, willingly. And if the story is far away, I’ve not been afraid to hop in a car and travel for hours to cover it.

But, again, I’ve only been doing this for a few years, so I’ve only actually made two of these trips. This January, that number will be bumped up to three (minus hopping in a car). Thinking about this Costa Rica experience has taken up a lot of my free time and not just because of the sunshine and greenery. I’m excited to practice reporting, especially in an unfamiliar place.

Learning about a few of the ecological practices in Costa Rica, and how they relate to some of the same things happening closer to home has been great. I’m looking forward to practicing Spanish and getting to know as much as I can about the places we’re visiting.

I’d like to expand on what my plans are for this Costa Rica trip, but the finer points will be hammered out as it goes along. Hopefully you can track the story right here on this blog.

-Jack Suntrup

One thought on “Ready for Costa Rica

  1. Debbie Allen says:

    You have a good perspective on the adventures that await you and your fellow students. I enjoy reading the blogs during this study abroad course. Write well and prosper!

Leave a Reply

