Don’t Squish It!

Kelly Koch shows a young visitor the Texas Brown Tarantula at Roaring River State Park

Kelly Koch shows a young visitor the Texas Brown Tarantula at Roaring River State Park

This adventure to Costa Rica appealed to me because I love wilderness.  The bugs and reptiles that make others squirm, are exhilarating for me.

I am a tour guide in Missouri State Parks.  Last July I assisted visitors in handling a tarantula. So I am more than ready for all of the creepy crawlies that we will come across…right?

Searching the internet for pictures and information about local wildlife is preparing me for the hundreds of animals we could see.  I have a special interest in the venomous residents of the country.  Understanding what lives in the forest can help to dispel unnecessary fears.

The field guide of Costa Rican birds which Dr. Allen so graciously lent me is full of colorful exotic birds.  The three full pages of tiny iridescent humming bird species surprised me.   Missouri only has one- the ruby throated humming bird.  The birds I most hope to see are a Motmot or Quetzal.  My binoculars are packed.

My lack of journalism background will have me reaching out for help from my fellow field reporters.  In exchange, I vow to relocate any upsetting pests you may find near your sleeping quarters.

— Kelly Koch


 

One thought on “Don’t Squish It!

  1. Debbie Allen says:

    Adventures – large and small – await you, Kelly. Looking forward to reading everyone’s stories.

Leave a Reply

