Expectations abroad

Above: a photo of me (right) and MU student Tim Carrillo during my last study abroad experience in Leipzig, Germany in 2011. Photo by Julia Sumpter

By Sally French

COLUMBIA, Missouri — Upon studying abroad in Costa Rica this January…

I fully expect to arrive armed with my photo gear.

I fully expect to shoot hundreds of photos in cloud forests, at beaches and of exotic critters.

I fully expect my computer to crash from uploading full-frame RAW files to my overwhelmed computer.

I fully expect (though don’t hope by any means), that my beloved camera could die at any moment (because my friend’s camera got stepped on by a horse while in Costa Rica).

And I fully, overwhelmingly expect to have the time of my life as I visually document a sustainable, thriving nation during my short trip abroad.

Leave a Reply

